connecting with Cape Air in BOS


Old Jun 11, 12, 12:10 pm
#1
Thread Starter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CHS
Programs: AAdvantage, Delta SkyMiles, HHonors Silver
Posts: 76
connecting with Cape Air in BOS

Will be going to Nantucket in late September (after US stops seasonal service there, unfortunately) so will probably be flying to Boston and then taking Cape Air to ACK. Can anyone advise how much time we should allow in Boston to make this connection? We will be checking bags.

I think this would be easier if we were to fly UA (a search on their website includes the connection with Cape Air) but we have to fly US metal in order to take advantage of the $99 companion fare.

Our only other previous experience with Cape Air has been a day trip from ACK to the Vineyard so I'm not familiar with their setup in a large airport.
chsflyer is offline
Old Jun 11, 12, 12:39 pm
#2

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: BUF
Programs: US CP, DL GM, HH Diamond, MR Platinum, SPG Gold, Hertz 5*, National Exec Elite, Amex Plat
Posts: 25
Cape Air is in terminal "C'. You will need to change from Terminal "B" and re clear TSA. I think you would want 1 1/2 hours at least to be safe.

Last edited by bfloref; Jun 12, 12 at 1:14 am
bfloref is offline
Old Jun 11, 12, 12:57 pm
#3
Thread Starter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CHS
Programs: AAdvantage, Delta SkyMiles, HHonors Silver
Posts: 76
Thanks.
chsflyer is offline
Old Jun 11, 12, 4:32 pm
#4

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BGM/ PHL
Programs: US (Silver, *A Silver), AA, Starbucks (Gold)
Posts: 2,242
Originally Posted by bfloref View Post
Cape Air is in terminal "C'. You will need to change from Terminal "B" and re clear TSA. I would like you would want 1 1/2 hours at least to be safe.
If your heart is not set on using the $99 certs, you might be better off snagging a seat on UA... that way you'd be in the same terminal at least.
thomwithanh is offline
Old Jun 11, 12, 5:23 pm
#5

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CLT
Programs: Choice Hotels/FFOCUS
Posts: 7,251
Not sure if Cape Air is flying from PVD at that time but if they are it would be a "piece of cake" connection as gates are very near.
coachrowsey is offline
Old Jun 12, 12, 1:46 pm
#6
Thread Starter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CHS
Programs: AAdvantage, Delta SkyMiles, HHonors Silver
Posts: 76
Thanks for the PVD suggestion. Unfortunately, Cape Air is not flying that route at that time.
chsflyer is offline
Old Jun 12, 12, 4:17 pm
#7

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PHL / EWR
Programs: DL DIA; AA PLAT; SPG PLAT 100+;
Posts: 175
Getting to MVY

Your other option is to fly Jetblue, which also lands at terminal C (so long as you are flying from a city that JetBlue serves).
finny52 is offline
Old Jun 12, 12, 4:54 pm
#8

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: BGM/ PHL
Programs: US (Silver, *A Silver), AA, Starbucks (Gold)
Posts: 2,242
Originally Posted by finny52 View Post
Your other option is to fly Jetblue, which also lands at terminal C (so long as you are flying from a city that JetBlue serves).
Considering that, B6 serves MVY directly from JFK... although it is seasonal and I'm not sure if it'll still be flying in September.

EDIT: No dice, MVY service stops after Labor Day (though ACK is bookable through the end of September)

Last edited by thomwithanh; Jun 12, 12 at 5:15 pm
thomwithanh is offline
Old Jun 14, 12, 9:04 am
#9

Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: Delta Dirt (fmr Plat), US Airways CP, Continental Silver, Marriott (almost LT) Plat, Starwood Gold
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by finny52 View Post
Your other option is to fly Jetblue, which also lands at terminal C (so long as you are flying from a city that JetBlue serves).
IIRC B6 also sells the ACK flights as a code share, if you want a complete (and thus potentially less risky) option.
DigAdGuy is offline
Old Jun 17, 12, 12:59 am
#10

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: BOS
Programs: Marriott Plat, SPG Plat, Hyatt Explorist-in-exile, HHonors Gold, AA Plat, Nat'l Exec
Posts: 3,091
Originally Posted by thomwithanh View Post
If your heart is not set on using the $99 certs, you might be better off snagging a seat on UA... that way you'd be in the same terminal at least.
Unfortunately, you can't count on that anymore -- since the merger, UA now uses both terminals A and C. Pre-merger UA destinations depart from C, and pre-merger CO destinations depart from A -- but they aren't consistent about arrivals. If the plane is flying ORD-BOS-EWR, for instance, it'll land in A.
dtremit is offline
Old Jun 17, 12, 6:18 am
#11

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Programs: AA EXP Hilton Diamond
Posts: 518
Originally Posted by dtremit View Post
Unfortunately, you can't count on that anymore -- since the merger, UA now uses both terminals A and C. Pre-merger UA destinations depart from C, and pre-merger CO destinations depart from A -- but they aren't consistent about arrivals. If the plane is flying ORD-BOS-EWR, for instance, it'll land in A.
I don't believe that US will transfer checked bags. So, you will have to claim your bags and recheck and go through security. Logan is small so getting from terminal B to Terminal C is no big deal. Security, you never know.

I believe as a code share UA will transfer your bags, this skips one step. But if you come into terminal A you will have to go through security again, if you come into terminal to C no security check.

If the $99 tickets are a big cost save and you have a decent connection time I'd go US. If the cost save is not that much and the connect time is short I'd go UA.
pbuntrock is offline
Old Jun 22, 12, 11:48 am
#12
Thread Starter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CHS
Programs: AAdvantage, Delta SkyMiles, HHonors Silver
Posts: 76
Thanks for all the advice. Would love to be able to do UA for the convenience but some in my group really need to save the money by using the $99 companion certificate on US. I can't seem to convince them that since we have a free place to stay in Nantucket it is OK to spend more on airfare. But then again, the only reason some of them are going is because we DO have a free place to stay - they'd like the plane tickets to be free too!
chsflyer is offline
Old Oct 21, 14, 8:07 am
#13

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Palm Beach
Programs: AA Plat
Posts: 711
Does the B-C connection still require a security re-check?
PBIGuy is offline
Old Oct 21, 14, 11:00 pm
#14

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CHI
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 401
Yes. There is no transfer inside security between B and C at Logan.
jsl42 is offline
Old Jul 6, 15, 5:13 pm
#15

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 321
What gates does cape air typically use at C terminal for its nantucket flights?
off2rome is offline


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 9:42 pm.

Home - News - Forum - Hotel Reviews - Glossary - Contact Us - Airport Code Lookup - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy - Advertise on FlyerTalk - Archive - Top

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by flybook.biz. Copyright 2017 flybook.biz. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.